UMO Golf Coach Honored with Milestone Award

UMO Golf Coach Honored with Milestone Award

 Conference Carolinas honored its latest Milestone and Legend award winners as part of its annual awards ceremony on Tuesday, May 16 at the Embassy Suites in Concord, North Carolina.

The Milestone and Legend awards are presented to deserving coaches and administrators that have made a long-standing impact within Conference Carolinas.

Conference Carolinas presented one Legend award at its annual awards ceremony with Barton men’s and women’s tennis head coach Lee Underwood garnering the prestigious honor.

The conference presented five Milestone awards at the annual awards ceremony. The University of Mount Olive Golf Coach, Chip Spiron was one recognized as a Milestone winner. Jenn Bell of Converse, Jan McDonald of North Greenville, Nate Moorman of Emmanuel College, and Mark Peeler of Erskine represent the Milestone Awards.

Chip Spiron was a student-athlete on the Mount Olive men’s golf team before returning to his alma mater as the men’s coach in the fall of 2022. He added women’s golf coaching duties in 2004. Spiron is one of only three head coaches in Mount Olive history to earn conference coach of the year honors in two different sports. Spiron was named the 2007 Conference Carolinas Men’s Golf Coach of the Year and was named the Conference Carolinas Women’s Golf Coach of the Year three consecutive years in 2011, 2012 and 2013. During the 2020-21 season, the men’s team captured their first Conference Carolinas Tournament Championship and the team at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament.