Two Wayne County Seniors Awarded Scholarships

Two Wayne County Seniors Awarded Scholarships

Two Wayne County Seniors have been awarded the Morehead-Cain, a four-year, opportunity-laden scholarship to attend the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill beginning in fall 2023.

Guillermo Estrada (Guillermo) will graduate this spring from Wayne School of Engineering and Wayne Community College in Goldsboro, North Carolina, as an honors student and member of the North Carolina Superintendent’s Student Advisory Council. Guillermo served as the first Latino president of the North Carolina 4-H State Council, leading several state events, workshops, and marketing campaigns, as well as serving as part of the 2022 National 4-H Congress Design team. He also served as founding chair of the Wayne Fair Junior Board, working on new marketing and educational experiences to promote the agricultural industry for youth. He works in the office of House Majority Leader John Bell as an intern, focusing on caucus communications and marketing. At Carolina, he is interested in studying public relations and public policy to work in political communications. Guillermo is the son of Michelle and Davy Estrada of Pikeville, North Carolina.

Anand Veeresh Medlery (Anand) will graduate this spring from Wayne Country Day School in Goldsboro, North Carolina, where he serves as student body president and vice president of Key Club, a community-service-centered organization. Anand served as his class’s president all of high school prior to becoming student government president. He is also an Eagle Scout after directing a project to build a Story-Board Walk for his local library. Anand is a varsity student-athlete with interests in basketball, soccer, and tennis. He worked as a physician and pharmacist assistant in Peru at a mobile clinic, traveling to various rural Andean areas lacking easy access to healthcare. At Carolina, he is interested in studying public health. Anand is the son of Veeresh Medlery and Geetha Chandrasekaran of Goldsboro, North Carolina.