Mount Olive Players Stand Out in Conference Carolinas 2023 Women’s Lacrosse All-Conference Honors

Mount Olive Players Stand Out in Conference Carolinas 2023 Women’s Lacrosse All-Conference Honors

Conference Carolinas officially unveiled the 2023 women’s lacrosse all-conference honors on Wednesday, April 26.

The all-conference awards were chosen by the league’s head coaches. 

Ali Davis of Mount Olive was named Offensive Player of the Year, the second Trojan in program history to win the award (Claire Wigler, 2016). A graduate student from Hampstead, New Hampshire, Davis averaged 3.73 goals per game with 56 in 15 games this season. She also had 14 assists for 70 points for 4.67 per contest which ranks third in the league. Playing attack for UMO, Davis netted at least one goal in every game and averaged four goals per contest in league games which ranks second in Conference Carolinas in just seven contests. She helped lead the Trojans to a third straight regular-season title.

For the sixth consecutive season Mount Olive captured Defensive Player of the Year honors as Alexis Stanley earned the award. A graduate student from Farmington, Minnesota, Stanley led the Trojans with 18 caused turnovers and 47 draw controls in the regular-season with eight caused turnovers and 26 draw controls in league games. She also scored a goal on senior day on her only shot of the year.

Hailey Obenchain of Converse was named Freshman of the Year and she joins Bridget Dullea (2010) as the only Valkyries to win the award. A native of Newburgh, Indiana, Obenchain led the league in assists (24) and assists per game (3.0) in eight league contests and also ranked third in points per game (4.88) with 15 goals and 24 assists. Playing attack for Converse, she tallied at least one point in all but one of the 17 games in which she played this season.

The Coach of the Year was Molly Lehman-Lewis of Belmont Abbey for the first time in program history. In her sixth season at the helm for the Crusaders, Lehman-Lewis led The Abbey to an 11-6 record overall and an 8-1 mark in league play. The Crusaders are the No. 2 seed in the conference tournament and she became the program’s winningest coach with a victory over Lees-McRae on March 22, 2023.

2023 Conference Carolinas Women’s Lacrosse All-Conference

Offensive Player of the Year

Ali Davis, Mount Olive

Defensive Player of the Year

Alexis Stanley, Mount Olive

Freshman of the Year

Hailey Obenchain, Converse

Coach of the Year

Molly Lehman-Lewis, Belmont Abbey

First Team

Attack – Riley D’Andrea, Belmont Abbey

Attack – Ali Davis, Mount Olive

Attack – Bria Hamilton, Mount Olive

Attack – Olivia Carlino, Belmont Abbey

Midfield – Justine Dorelas, Emmanuel

Midfield – Zoe Dougherty, Mount Olive

Midfield – Emma Pherson, Belmont Abbey

Defense – Alexis Stanley, Mount Olive

Defense – Danielle LaPlume, North Greenville

Defense – Elizabeth Hommel, Belmont Abbey

Defense – Camryn Youngblood, Mount Olive

Goalie – Summer Eddinger, Belmont Abbey

Second Team

Attack – Dani O’Meara, North Greenville

Attack – Hailey Obenchain, Converse

Attack – Sydney Quinn, Barton

Attack – Emily Zambrano, North Greenville

Midfield – Kloe Martin, Barton

Midfield – Ryleigh Schaeffer, Converse

Midfield – Kate Roberts, Belmont Abbey

Defense – Carley Patwell, Barton

Defense – Samantha Diaz, Barton

Defense – Lexi Helms, Belmont Abbey

Defense – Trinity Walker, Chowan

Goalie – Claire Hagen, Mount Olive

Third Team

Attack – Lauryn Esposito, Southern Wesleyan

Attack – Meagan Maxwell, Mount Olive

Attack – Brenna Everette, Converse

Attack – Hailey Carroll, Belmont Abbey

Midfield – Lauren Kuschel, Emmanuel

Midfield – Margot Coomes, Mount Olive

Midfield – Jayden Smith, Barton

Defense – Madison Pena, Emmanuel

Defense – Caroline Abbott, Mount Olive

Defense – Kendall Rivers, North Greenville

Defense – Rileigh Kucera, Mount Olive

Goalie – Aviva Beringhause, Lees-McRae