Wayne Community College President Named State Administrator of the Year

Wayne Community College President Named State Administrator of the Year

Patricia A. Pfeiffer has been named the 2022-2023 Katrina V. Miller Administrator of the Year by the N.C. Association of Educational Office Professionals (AEOP).

Pfeiffer, Wayne Community College’s president, was selected the 2022 Administrator of the Year at the college and the district AEOP levels, which put her in the running for this award.

Pfeiffer said she was surprised by the accolade, which was presented during Administrators’ Banquet at the NCAEOP Conference held recently in Winston-Salem. “I was there to support the members from our unit and District 12 and I was given this great honor,” she said.

The announcement of the distinction noted that one of her nomination supporters had written that Pfeiffer “has the ability to communicate, confidence to stand alone, courage to make tough decisions, compassion to listen to the needs of others, and ability to recognize employees’ accomplishments.”

Pfeiffer is the fourth WCC staff member to bring this award home in 11 years. Past recipients were Associate Vice President for Academic and Student Services Joanna Morrisette in 2019, Dean of the Allied Health and Public Service Division Janeil Marak in 2018, and Dr. Peggy Teague, who held the vice president for academic and student services post at the time, in 2013.

Pfeiffer also won the WCC AEOP and NC District 12 AEOP Administrator of the Year awards in 2015.

The North Carolina Association of Educational Office Professionals is a support organization for office personnel and administrators in public and private educational systems throughout North Carolina. The organization provides professional development opportunities, insurance, and scholarships to members as well as a legislative platform to promote input into all matters impacting matters of education in the state.