Spring Creek Elementary wins WCPS “Elementary Battle of the Books” Competition

Spring Creek Elementary wins WCPS “Elementary Battle of the Books” Competition

Twelve elementary school teams recently came together to compete at the Wayne County Public Schools (WCPS) annual Elementary Battle of the Books competition. The event took place Friday, March 24, at the Dillard/Goldsboro Alumni Cultural Center with approximately 90 students competing. Spring Creek Elementary won first place.

“Wayne County Public Schools is thankful for all the media coordinators, families, and volunteers who make this event possible for our students,” states Christy White, Title IV Enrichment Facilitator. “Instilling a love of reading at a young age will help our students to become well-rounded, educated, productive adults. The Battle of the Books is a fun and engaging way to encourage that love of reading.”

The Elementary School Battle of the Books is a quiz bowl style competition that encourages reading. Contestants, who are in grades 4-5, must read 15 books chosen by a statewide committee, and the competition tests students’ comprehension of the books.

The Spring Creek Elementary 2022-2023 team consists of Emersyn Carter, Katherine Throm, Rhett Heath, Naomi Tutor, Vanessa Carachure Martinez. The team was coached by Lynn Crumpler.

The Spring Creek Elementary team will move on to the regional Battle of the Books competition, which will be held on Tuesday April 25, 2023 at Morehead Elementary School in Morehead City, North Carolina.

The Battle of the Books program is coordinated by the Media Center program at participating schools. Organizers state that Battle of the Books is a great way to motivate students to read and be exposed to quality literature.

Fremont Elementary took second place. Their team consists of Jax Carter, Kaitlyn Derksen, Georgia Lynn Frederick, Aimee Jennings, Jaxon McDonald, Kenani Speight, and Brayden Watkins. The team is coached by Tammy Derksen (Head Coach) and Tobie Girard (Assistant Coach).

Rosewood Elementary took third place. Their team consists of Addison Baker, Sean Perez, Lainey Sparks, Najron Tucker, Peyton Weaver, Lucas Wilson. The team is coached by Lori Jones (Head Coach) and Dana Gurley (Assistant Coach).

The other schools that participated in the competition include: Carver Elementary, Carver Heights Elementary, Eastern Wayne Elementary, Grantham Middle, Meadow Lane Elementary, Mount Olive Middle, Northeast Elementary, Northwest Elementary, and Spring Creek Middle.