Goldsboro Wayne NAACP Installs New Officers

Goldsboro Wayne NAACP Installs New Officers

The Goldsboro Wayne Branch of the NAACP is proud to announce the swearing in of its new leadership team. The swearing in by Nicholas Green, NC NAACP, District Director, held on Thursday, January 26, 2023, marked the beginning of a new era for the organization while emphasizing the commitment to the community to promote justice and equality for all.

John Barnes will serve as President, Francine Smith, 1st Vice President, Bobby Jones, 2nd Vice President, James Smith, 3rd Vice President, and Sylvia Barnes, the former branch president, as 4th Vice President. LaVone Hicks will continue to serve as Secretary and Evelyn Paul, Treasurer. Nichole Dixon will serve as Membership Chair, Dr. Sandra Coley, Religion Education Chair, and Stephen McFarland, Political Action Chair. Gloria Howard and Jerry Howard will serve as at-large Executive Committee Members.

The new leadership team is eager to work together to continue the legacy of the NAACP and to address the ongoing challenges facing the community. The organization is committed to working towards a more just and equitable society for all and to promoting the rights of all individuals, regardless of race, ethnicity, or background.

“We are thrilled to welcome this talented and dedicated group of individuals to the leadership of the Goldsboro Wayne NAACP,” said incoming president John Barnes. “Their passion and commitment to justice and equality will be invaluable as we continue to work towards a brighter future for all members of our community.”

The Goldsboro-Wayne NAACP general membership meeting is held on the 4th Thursday of each month, 6:30 pm at Rebuilding Broken Places, 2105 N. William Street, Goldsboro, NC 27530. For more information, contact, John Barnes at [email protected] or visit us on Facebook at