WCPS Teacher Named NCCAT Empower Beginning Teacher of the Year Finalist

WCPS Teacher Named NCCAT Empower Beginning Teacher of the Year Finalist

Mount Olive Middle 7th grade English Language Arts teacher, Beth Rose, recently learned that she was one of 27 finalists in the North Carolina Center For The Advancement Of Teaching (NCCAT) 2023 Empower Beginning Teacher of the Year Award program.

“Mrs. Rose is an exceptional beginning teacher and Wayne County Public Schools is proud to have her as a finalist for the NCCAT Beginning teacher of the year award,” states Dr. Yvette Smith Mason, Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources. “Mrs. Rose inspires hope and a love of learning in her students everyday. She is a model teacher and dedicated to educating all children. We are fortunate to have her in Wayne County and are excited to have her represent our district in the NCCAT awards program.”

This past fall, Ms. Rose was selected to represent WCPS in the NCCAT Empower Beginning Teacher of the Year program. NCCAT finalists were named in January for their dedication, innovation, and ability to inspire students to achieve. Following the NCCAT announcement, WCPS leaders, HR staff and WCPS Beginning Teacher (BT) Coordinators traveled to Ms. Rose’s school to honor her for this achievement and to wish her well in the final stage of this NCCAT awards program.

“These finalists provide a snapshot of great teachers’ lasting impact on our students from the first to the last day they step into a North Carolina public school,” said NCCAT Executive Director M. Brock Womble. “We are excited about this opportunity to honor teachers for their important work in our state.”

As a finalist, Ms. Rose will travel to NCCAT in Cullowhee March 6-10 for a week of professional development. On March 9, a special event will be held to honor the finalists and to name the 2023 NCCAT Empower Beginning Teacher of the Year.

The NCCAT Beginning Teacher of the Year will receive a $5,000 cash prize, have the opportunity to participate in a GoGlobal NC trip in 2024, and receive instructional supply funds for their school. The runner-up will receive a $2,000 prize.