WCC to Host First Responder Memorial Service

WCC to Host First Responder Memorial Service

Wayne Community College will host a First Responder Memorial Service on Friday, Oct. 28.

The ceremony will begin at 9 a.m. It will be held in Moffatt Auditorium in the Wayne Learning Center – the building with flags in front, on the college’s main campus at 3000 Wayne Memorial Drive in Goldsboro.

It is free and open to the public.

During the event, representatives of the Wayne County agencies that have lost members since 1900 will honor their personnel.

Those who will be memorialized include:
Kenneth L. Davis (1976) and James M. Hickman (1976) of Goldsboro Rescue and Emergency Medical Services;
Robby D. Blizzard (1998) of Arrington Volunteer Fire Department;
James V. Radford (2022) of Polly Watson Volunteer Fire Department;
H. Sidney Jones (1998) and Joe J. Tucker (2021) of Thoroughfare Volunteer Fire Department; Carol I. Taylor (2008) of City of Goldsboro Fire Department;
Chief Walter Braswell (1965) of Fremont Police Department;
Officer Herbert C. Wiegand (1940), Officer Mahlon M. Parks (1960), Officer Frank Faircloth (1960), Officer Walter J. Rouse (1968) and Major Jay R. Memmelaar (2017) of Goldsboro Police Department;
Constable Zeb Lancaster (1900) of Pikeville Police Department;
Sheriff John Coor-Pender (1937), Captain Jerry K. Best (2002) and Sergeant Matthew R. Fishman (2022) of Wayne County Sheriff’s Office; and
Trooper I. T. Moore (1937), Trooper Michael Martin (1988), and Trooper Nolan Sanders (2020) of North Carolina Highway Patrol.

A reception will follow the ceremony.

Contact WCC Public Safety Dean Angie Blizzard at 919-739-6801 or [email protected] with any questions.