Monday begins school for traditional schools in Wayne County. Children and school buses will be traveling to and from the schools. Safety first when traveling through school zones and around stopped school buses.
Please remember North Carolina’s law on stopping for a school bus. North Carolina has severe penalties for motorists who fail to comply with school bus safety rules. There is a $500 penalty for motorists who are caught passing a stopped school bus, and a five-point penalty on their driver’s license. A driver who passes a stopped school bus and strikes someone will face a Class I felony and be fined a minimum of $1,000, and the penalty is increased to a Class H felony and a fine of $2,500 if someone is killed.