Veteran Educator & Administrator Begins Director Role

Veteran Educator & Administrator Begins Director Role

This month, veteran educator and administrator, Youlonda Wynn, transitioned from Wayne County Public Schools Assistant Director of Federal Programs to the new Director of Federal Programs & Elementary Education. The Wayne County Board of Education approved the administrative change in June.

“Mrs. Wynn is highly skilled, a trusted leader, and a strong advocate for students, families, and schools,” states Dr. Lewis, Superintendent. “In her role, she effectively manages the district’s $9 million annual federal budget which supports at-risk students and schools. She has also worked closely with the district’s leadership team, and finance office staff to ensure $85 million in ESSER COVID relief funds are appropriately budgeted, managed and spent.”

Mrs. Wynn is a Wayne County native. She began her education career in 1997 as a fifth-grade teacher at E.K. Poe Elementary in Durham, North Carolina. The following year, she returned home to Wayne County where she taught at North Drive Elementary and later at Northeast Elementary. In 2006, Mrs. Wynn transitioned to school administration as an assistant principal at Grantham School. She was named principal of Brogden Primary in 2010. In January 2020, she transitioned to district’s Central Services to serve as the assistant director for the WCPS Federal Programs department.

“I have had the opportunity to work with Ms. Wynn in many capacities,” states Dr. Carol H. Artis, Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum & Instruction. “She has great acumen in curriculum and instruction, budgeting, and school management. Her dedication to excellence is exemplified in the projects and programs she has led. In this role, I am positive she will greatly impact the students, staff, and administrators in all areas.”

Mrs. Wynn holds a bachelor’s degree in elementary education and a master’s degree in school administration. She was also a North Carolina Teaching Fellow, a North Carolina Principals Fellow, and the 2017 WCPS Principal of the Year.