Three WCC Trustees Reappointed

Three WCC Trustees Reappointed

Three Wayne Community College trustees have been reappointed to the college’s board.

Jimmie E. Ford is embarking on his second term. He began his time as a trustee in 2017 when he was appointed by Gov. Roy Cooper. Ford serves as chair of the board’s Personnel, Student Services and Policy Committee.

Adrian M. Worrell is starting his first full term. His original term began in July 2019 when he filled the unexpired term of Keith Gunnett. He was reappointed by the Wayne County Board of Education.

David E. Jackson, who has served as a trustee since 2014, was reappointed by the Wayne County Commissioners. Jackson is the immediate past chair of the board and currently chairs the board’s Building Committee.

The 12 members of the college’s Board of Trustees are appointed to four-year terms by the governor, county board of commissioners, and county board of education.

North Carolina community college boards of trustees hold their authority from GS 115D, Article 2. The law prescribes the appointment of members, describes the board’s powers and duties, and includes other details about the board’s activities.