Bitzenhofer Wins First Wayne County Amateur Title (PHOTO GALLERY)

Bitzenhofer Wins First Wayne County Amateur Title (PHOTO GALLERY)

On Sunday afternoon, Chris Bitzenhofer shot a 74 in the third round of the Wayne County Men’s Amateur and clinched his first-ever Wayne County Men’s Amateur Open Division championship at Walnut Creek Country Club.

Bitzenhofer posted a three-day score of 216 to win the championship, and Bitzenhofer had to overcome a three-stroke deficit in the final round.

Heading into Sunday, five-time champion Jonathan Burke held a three-shot lead over Bitzenhofer, while two-time champion Dane Jones was four strokes behind Burke.

Bitzenhofer became the 12th different Open champion since the WCMA’s inception in 1999.

Jones secured third at 218, followed by Michael Sutton (219) and Nick Adams (219).

Over in the Senior Division, Stand Adams (211) won his first Senior Division championship since 2015, while five-time defending Senior Division champion Lionel Sutton (214) finished in second.

John Zambelli ended second-round play five strokes behind Jim Alford and Jeffery Jackson, who both sat atop the Super Senior Division leaderboard at 146.

Zambelli posted a final-round 70 — which gave him a three-day mark of 221 and his seventh Super Division title.

Jackson dropped up to second place at 222. Alford tumbled to third at 229, followed by Brian Brosenne (231)

Ben King picked up his second Masters Division title with a 222-226 decision over Leigh West.

Kathy Woodard (174) won the inaugural Wayne County Women’s Amateur, while Gloria McCullen (186) and Gina Price (186) wound up second and third, respectively.