WCC Student Standouts Lauded

WCC Student Standouts Lauded

Wayne Community College has recognized its top students of the 2019-2020 academic year.

Sixty-seven students were honored with 80 awards.

Each year, WCC faculty members select one student from their program whose academic accomplishments best represent that program. Those students receive Outstanding Student Curriculum Awards.

Following are the students honored with Outstanding Student Curriculum Awards and the program recognizing them.

In the Allied Health and Public Services Division:

  • Hayleigh Stocks of Dudley, Associate Degree Nursing
  • Emily Bales of Smithfield, Dental Assisting
  • Sommer Braswell of Nashville, Dental Hygiene
  • Terri Davis of Goldsboro, Early Childhood
  • Tracina Andrews of Goldsboro, Human Services
  • Laurie Huerta of Dudley, Medical Assisting
  • Destanie Pendergraft of Princeton, Medical Laboratory
  • Cara Bloomberg of La Grange, Practical Nursing

In the Applied Technologies Division:

  • Andrew Ingram of Goldsboro, Agribusiness
  • Joshua Hodges of Goldsboro, Air Conditioning, Heating and Refrigeration
  • Uriel Lopez Luna of La Grange, Applied Animal Science
  • Jacob Pate of Pikeville, Automotive Systems – General Motors Automotive Service Educational Program
  • Jose Arriaga of Faison, Automotive Systems – Automotive Technical Education Program
  • Jeff Gollbach of Garner, Aviation Systems
  • Billy Stallings of Goldsboro, Business Administration/Operations Management
  • Ryan Baugh of Goldsboro, Collision Repair and Refinishing
  • Justin Gosvener of La Grange, Computer-Integrated Machining
  • Stephen Romine of Dunn, Forest Management
  • Todd Mitchell of Goldsboro, Industrial Systems
  • James Smith of Pikeville, Mechanical Engineering
  • Israel Mabanag of Goldsboro, Mechatronics
  • Ariel Sundheimer of Newton Grove, Sustainable Agriculture
  • Cameron Klages of Goldsboro, Turfgrass Management
  • Lester Velasquez of Dudley, Welding

In the Arts and Sciences Division:

  • Madolyn Casey of Goldsboro, Associate in Arts
  • Lance Clark of Dudley, Associate in Engineering
  • Dewight Garner of Mount Olive, Associate in Science

In the Business and Computer Technologies Division:

  • Michelle Johnson of Dudley, Accounting
  • Shelbi Stevenson of Goldsboro, Business Administration
  • Lance Offield of Goldsboro, Computer Programming and Development
  • John-Michael Cobb of Goldsboro, Cybersecurity
  • Dorothy Combs of Lucama, Information Technology Business Support
  • Peggy Williams of Goldsboro, Medical Office Administration
  • Elizabeth Rhyne Chaffer of Goldsboro, Network Management
  • Cheryle Melton of Pikeville, Office Administration
  • Cheyenne Prybylinski of Seven Springs, Simulation and Game Development

In the Public Safety Division:

  • Justin Arnette of Faison, Criminal Justice
  • Travis Sauls of Goldsboro, Emergency Management.

Lance Offield and Kayla Powell of Goldsboro, an Associate Degree Nursing major, were finalists for the Academic Excellence Award. Jeff Gollbach was named the winner.

The Academic Excellence Award recognizes a student not only based on academic achievement, but also community service and leadership activities. The winner was presented a plaque and a medallion by the North Carolina Community College System.

Dylon Bryson of Goldsboro, a Simulation and Game Development major, is the recipient of the 2020 Work-Based Learning Student of the Year Award. The award recognizes his extra effort and achievement in her work-based learning experience.

The Dallas Herring Student Achievement Award recognizes a student who embodies the philosophy of Dr. Herring, one of the fathers of North Carolina’s community college system, who said that community colleges should “take the people where they are and carry them as far as they can go.”

Rubi Lutze of Goldsboro, an Associate Degree Nursing major, and Ja’Niyah Williams of Goldsboro, a Transfer Pathways student, were honored as Herring Award finalists. Kristen Hines of Goldsboro, and Associate in Arts major, was the winner. Hines became the college’s nominee for this award at the state level.

Hannah Carter of Pikeville, a Business Administration major, and Ja’Niyah Williams were finalists and Logan Matthews of Goldsboro, an Associate in Arts major, was named the winner of WCC’s Governor Robert W. Scott Student Leadership Award. The winner was the college’s nominee for this award at the state level, which is presented by the North Carolina Association of Community College Presidents to recognize outstanding student leadership and service.

The 2019-2020 members of Who’s Who Among Students at Wayne Community College and their majors are:

  • Luke Barefoot of Pikeville, Associate in Arts
  • Alyssa Brinkley of La Grange, Associate in Arts
  • Kelly Dail of Goldsboro, Associate in Science
  • Taylor Gay of Goldsboro, Associate in Science
  • Kimberly Hughes of Pikeville, Human Services
  • Carolyn Mack of Richlands, Associate Degree Nursing
  • Kali Mcleod of Middlesex, Practical Nursing
  • Lance Offield of Goldsboro, Computer Programming and Development
  • Brynn Smith of La Grange, Associate Degree Nursing
  • Jada Smith of Raleigh, Dental Hygiene
  • Madeline Smith of Pikeville, Dental Assisting
  • Sarah Staton of Warne, Dental Hygiene
  • Jenna Woodard of Princeton, Associate Degree Nursing

The Who’s Who designation honors WCC’s leading students for their academic excellence and contributions they make to the college and community. Only 1 percent of the students who attend WCC are selected for this honor annually.

The 2019-2020 Student Government Association Officers were recognized for providing leadership to their fellow students, the college, and the community. They are President Logan Matthews; Vice President Matt Willoughby of Goldsboro; an Associate in Engineering major; Secretary Payton Herring of Goldsboro, a Dental Assisting major; and Public Information Chair Hannah Carter.

The 2019-2020 Ambassadors were honored for their service. They are Luke Barefoot; Taylor Gay; Alvin Ward of Goldsboro, a Business Administration major; Alyssa Brinkley; Brynn Smith; and Kelly Dail. Ambassadors represent the college at special events on campus and within the community, and must maintain full-time academic status and a 3.0 or higher grade point average.

Wayne Community College is a public, learning-centered institution with an open-door admission policy located in Goldsboro, N.C. As it works to develop a highly skilled and competitive workforce, the college serves around 11,000 individuals annually as well as businesses, industry, and community organizations with high quality, affordable, accessible learning opportunities, including more than 140 college credit programs. WCC’s mission is to meet the educational, training, and cultural needs of the communities it serves.