Capps Elected To NCLM Board Of Directors

Capps Elected To NCLM Board Of Directors

Cary Council Member Jennifer Robinson is the new president, and Salisbury Mayor Karen Alexander first vice-president, of the North Carolina League of Municipalities in a freshly elected League Board of Directors, comprising new and continuing members. Goldsboro City Clerk Melissa Capps was sworn in to service on the board, filling an at-large seat reserved for a municipal clerk.

Robinson, a town council member since 1999, acknowledged her new position as president comes amid a “most surreal and challenging time,” with public health, economic and social concerns in the daily headlines, national to local. “But what we do know is that the League is looking out for our best interests,” she said. “It understands the challenges that municipalities, their elected leaders, and citizens are facing. They are bringing us together with one collective voice.”

Her words followed a tone like that set by longtime board member Immediate Past President William Pitt of the Washington City Council, who frequently cited the energy of working in unison. He extended thanks for the opportunity to lead the board’s work over the past year. “Having served this organization for almost a decade, I will treasure all the friendships and acts of kindness and love,” Pitt remarked on the transition. “Even as the work over this issue or that fades, those personal acts will remain. It has truly been a great honor to be your president, and I thank you all.”

The duties of the new board (full roster below) began with CityVision 2020, the League’s annual conference, this year in a first-ever virtual format in adherence to public health guidelines under the pandemic. The conference, with nearly 750 municipal officials registered, unfolded in two parts – the first in late May, when the new board election results were announced, and a three-day series that wrapped up Thursday.

The League Board of Directors elections results:

  • President, Jennifer Robinson, Council Member, Cary
  • First Vice President, Karen Alexander, Mayor, Salisbury
  • Second Vice President, Scott Neisler, Mayor, Kings Mountain
  • Immediate Past President, William Pitt, Council Member, Washington
  • League District 1, Mayor Don Kingston, Duck
  • League District 2, Mayor Dennis Barber, Newport
  • League District 3, Mayor Walter Eccard, Shallotte
  • League District 4, Mayor Gloristine Brown, Bethel
  • League District 5, Mayor Pro Tem Carl Ferebee, Roanoke Rapids
  • League District 6, Commissioner William Harris, Fuquay-Varina
  • League District 7, Alderman Sona Cooper, Spring Lake
  • League District 8, Mayor Bobby Kilgore, Monroe
  • League District 9, Mayor Neville Hall, Eden
  • League District 10, Mayor Pro Tem Ben Willis, Lenoir
  • League District 11, Alderman Stacey Malker-Thomas, Dallas
  • League District 12, Mayor Lynda Sossamon, Sylva
  • At Large, Mayor Ian Baltutis, Burlington
  • At Large, Council Member Owen Thomas, Lumberton
  • At Large, Council Member Doug Matheson, Blowing Rock
  • Manager, Jeffrey Repp, City Manager, Boiling Spring Lakes
  • Manager, Bob Boyette, City Manager, Marion
  • Manager, Andrew Havens, Town Manager, Apex
  • Clerk, Melissa Capps, City Clerk, Goldsboro
  • Attorney, Kimberly Rehberg, City Attorney, Durham
  • Undesignated Affiliate Rep., Mayor Chuck Allen, Military Host Cities Coalition, Goldsboro
  • Undesignated Affiliate Rep., David Phlegar, SWANC, Greensboro
  • Large City, Charlotte, Council Member Larken Egleston
  • Large City, Durham, Council Member Mark-Anthony Middleton
  • Large City, Fayetteville, Council Member Johnny Dawkins
  • Large City, Greensboro, Council Member Sharon Hightower
  • Large City, Raleigh, Council Member Nicole Stewart
  • Large City, Winston-Salem, Council Member Jeff MacIntosh