Wednesday, October 27, 2021
WCC Students Headed For Aviation Mechanic Certification

WCC Students Headed For Aviation Mechanic Certification

Four Wayne Community College students are ready to tackle Federal Aviation Administration Mechanic exams.

The second-year Aviation Systems Technology students completed all requirements to be awarded Airframe Certificates. That credential authorizes them to sit for the FAA General and Airframe Mechanic written exams.

The students are Stephen Gilbert of Wake Forest, Jeffrey Gollbach of Garner, Jared Rhynehart of Princeton, and Kevin Welton of Knightdale.

Only those who have proof of experience, which the college’s certificate provides, may take the exams. After successful completion of those tests, the students can then take the oral and practical general and airframe exams.

“Once the candidate passes both parts of both of those exams, he will be issued a temporary certificate which will immediately certify that candidate as a Mechanic with Airframe rating,” explained Aviation Systems Technology Instructor Mike Crumpler. “The temporary certificate authorizes that individual to exercise the privileges of an Airframe Mechanic while he waits for the permanent certificate to arrive by mail.”

WCC is one of 170 FAA-certified Aviation Maintenance Technician Schools in the country.

WCC’s Aviation Systems Technology program provides the knowledge and skills for students to qualify for an aircraft mechanic’s certificate with airframe and/or powerplant ratings. It offers an Aviation Systems Technology Degree, Aviation Systems Technology Airframe Diploma, and Aviation Systems Technology Power Plant Diploma.

For more information, potential participants can contact Crumpler at 919-739-6824 or, or Mark Peeples at 919-739-6823 or

Four students in Wayne Community College’s Aviation Systems Technology program have completed requirements necessary to sit for the Federal Aviation Administration General and Airframe Mechanic exams. Along with Instructor Mike Crumpler (far left), they are (left to right) Stephen Gilbert, Jared Rhynehart, Kevin Welton, and Jeffrey Gollbach.