WCC Presents 2023 Distinguished Chair Awards

WCC Presents 2023 Distinguished Chair Awards

Two Wayne Community College faculty members have been honored with the college’s 20th set of “Distinguished Chair” awards.

Biology Instructor Angela Lynn Swafford and Dean of Public Safety Angie Blizzard each received a trophy and a monetary prize to use for travel or professional development.

The Distinguished Chair awards recognize outstanding full-time curriculum faculty members who have distinguished themselves at the college and in the community. The awards are made possible by an annual gift to the Foundation of Wayne Community College by an anonymous donor.

Swafford has been employed at WCC since 2016. Along with being a biology instructor, she is also the coordinator for WCC’s Honors program.

Her nomination for the award described her as an “extremely talented leader” who is kind, compassionate, and quick to volunteer, all while possessing an “enthusiastic dedication” to the college. It was also stated that she was integral in the planning and execution of WCC’s first and now annual Global Experience Honoring Your World event.

Vice President of Academic and Student Services Brandon Jenkins remarked that Swafford “works diligently behind the scenes to give our students first-class research and scholarly opportunities for our honors program. She is a true team player.”

Blizzard has been employed at WCC for more than 17 years. She dedicates her time and expertise with not only the college, but the community as well, being employed with the Wayne County Sheriff’s Office for 27 years.

Colleagues described Blizzard as approachable, always on call, quick to listen, and selfless – someone who “truly wants the very best for those around her.”

Jenkins added that Blizzard is “a true, no-nonsense professional” and is “well respected by those in her division, as well as faculty and staff across campus.”